November 3, 2012

  • I think, therefore I am

    Thoughts swell to near frenzied obsession
    only to sigh out
    into the mental oblivion.

    Swell, and sigh.
    Swell, and sigh.

    Insomnia, especially, induces
    the mind’s quiet rhythm
    to hyperventilation
    and even enlists the heart’s loudness.
    If only we could break insomnia’s insistence
    on filling that space beneath the skull.
    But in this madness, I remember
    the mind is breathing, albeit
    with crashing swells and subtle sighs.

    The mind is still breathing,
    and I am thankful
    I am still alive.

     

    For those Xangans who might be curious, I started medical school a few months back and I’ve been super busy. I wish I could write more, but it’s difficult even to get leisurely reading inbetween all the studying. This poem is a tribute to pre-exam anxiety. Yay! Now back to studying for my 3 part final on Monday.

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *